Home Record Label VELP010


Title: "Ampalanche"

Code: VELP010

Year: 2016

First press of 500 copies:

  • 100 hand-numbered (001/100) copies on coloured (gold) vinyl + inner + exclusive poster (SOLD OUT)
  • 200 hand-numbered (101/300) copies on coloured (red) vinyl + inner
  • 200 copies on black vinyl

Black new standard VE label

Artwork by Kabuto

The album contains download code (with exclusive track of 49 minutes!).

Issue date: 15/01/2016

Tracklist - Side A:

  • Ampalanche
  • Slave
  • Sometimes

Tracklist - Side B:

  • Planck
  • Brisket
  • Nico
  • Alive


Review on THE OBELISK:

By way of a confession, I wanted to end this batch of 50 reviews with something I knew I dug, and that distinction goes to Houston rockers Linus Pauling Quartet, whose latest full-length, Ampalanche, is released via the label wing of Italian ‘zine Vincebus Eruptum. An album that offers some of the most pretense-free rock flute I’ve ever heard on “Slave to the Die,” it’s a down-home weirdo rocker that might, at a moment’s notice, plunge full-on into psychedelia in “Sometimes” or, say, include a 49-minute echoing space-drone “Vi, de Druknede (We, the Drowned)” as a download-only bonus track, and the fact that Linus Pauling Quartet can always be relied on for something different but consistent in charm and the quality of songwriting is not to be taken for granted, whether it’s the Midwestern noise rock of “Brisket” or the fuzzy roll of dreamy album-closer “Alive.” Yeah, I was doing myself a favor by finishing with Ampalanche. I have absolutely zero regrets. Linus Pauling Quartet continue to be woefully underappreciated.